Prof Agbakoba receives International Research Award 

Nigerian academic, Prof Joseph C. A. Agbakoba, was among an elite group of researchers who were honored at a presentation ceremony of the Georg Forster Research Awards for 2022, organized by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany.


At the event which held in Berlin recently, Agbakoba was honored, alongside other award recipients, for his scholarly contributions to the field of African Philosophy and intercultural relations.


Part of his citation at the event read that “Professor Agbakoba has an outstanding international reputation for his work on the philosophical underpinnings of human and social development especially in Africa. He has shown not only how African values can promote development, but also which attitudes need to be cultivated to render development successful. His interdisciplinary and intercultural approach builds bridges between cultures.”


It was for this that the Nigerian university lecturer was last year announced as recipient of the 2022 Georg Forster Research Award – an award given each year to only a few scholars and scientists in any discipline from 137 countries of the developing world.


The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (sponsors of the Georg Forster Award) was established in 1953 by the German government to enhance international scientific and scholarly development and collaboration. It sponsors some of the world’s most prestigious fellowships and research awards and has supported a large network of top flight scholars globally, including 57 Nobel Prize winners.

Prof Agbakoba, of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN), is a pioneer researcher and teacher in the field of Development Philosophy and Ethics for Africa.


He has been visiting professor and scholar at Goethe University Frankfurt and the University of Cape Coast and has held a number of international scholarships and research fellowships.

He is a former president of the Nigerian Philosophical Association and member of the Committee of Directors, International Federation of Philosophical Societies (FISP).



Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button