2023: Lagos, Kano, Kaduna, Rivers record highest number as voters register hit 93.5m

The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, on Wednesday, announced that the voter register had swollen up to 93.5million.


Analysis of the preliminary register reveals that Lagos, Kano, Kaduna, Rivers, Katsina and Oyo states have the highest number of registered voters.


A breakdown indicates that Lagos has 7.57 per cent; Kano, 6.34 per cent; Kaduna, 4.65 per cent; Rivers, 3.77 per cent; Katsina, 3.76 per cent and Oyo 3.51 per cent.


Checks by The PUNCH indicate that voters in the six states constitute 27.68m or 29.59 per cent of the entire registered voters.


According to the preliminary voter register, Lagos, Kano, Kaduna and Rivers states lead with 7,075,192; 5,927,565; 4,345,469 and 3,532,990, respectively.


They are followed by Katsina with 3,519,260 and Oyo, with 3,275,045.


Further analysis also revealed that the North-West geopolitical zone, which comprises the seven states of Kano, Katsina, Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara and Jigawa, with a total of 22.27m voters, has the highest number of registered voters.


As of the 2019 elections, the North-West had 20.15m voters. However, the data from INEC revealed that the zone got additional 2.12m voters during the recently-concluded continuous voter registration.


The South-West, which earlier had 16.29m voters as of 2019, now has 17.93m voters, having added a total of 1.64m newly-registered voters.


South-South voters


Following in third place is the South-South zone comprising Akwa-Ibom, Rivers, Cross-River, Bayelsa, Edo and Delta states.


The number of registered voters in the zone has risen from 12.8m to 14.4m.


The North-Central, which is made up of Nasarawa, Kogi, Benue, Niger Kwara, and Plateau now has a total of 13.8m voters while the North- East which consists of Yobe, Borno, Taraba, Adamawa, Bauchi and Gombe added 1.07m new voters to reach 12.5m.


The South-East, which is the smallest geopolitical zone, and consists of five states — Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Anambra and Imo now has a total of 10.9m voters while the Federal Capital Territory increased from 1.3m to 1.5m registered voters.


Lagos maintained its position as the state with the highest number of registered voters, increasing its figure from 6.5m to 7.07m.


Kano State also added 469,818 new voters to increase its number to 5.9m voters.


Kaduna now has 4.3m voters while Rivers state overtook Katsina as the fourth largest state in terms of voters.


While Rivers now has 3.53m voters, Katsina has 3.51m.



(The Punch)


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button