General News

Senate confirms appointment of CDS, Service Chiefs

Three weeks after he was appointed, the Senate on Thursday confirmed the appointment of Major General Christopher Musa as Chief of Defence Staff after a three-hour closed-door screening session.


The Senate also confirmed the nomination of Service Chiefs as transmitted to them by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for appointment.


The Service Chiefs confirmed by the Senate include Major General Taoreed Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.


Three weeks after taking his oath of office, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect.


They were appointed in acting capacity, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


In line with the prescriptions of the constitution, Tinubu on Tuesday wrote the Senate, seeking the screening and subsequent confirmation of the new Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs.


The request was contained in a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio.


Akpabio who read the letter during Plenary, said that the request was in line with the Act establishing the Armed Forces.


Tinubu urged the Red Chamber to consider his request expeditiously.


Akpabio, after reading the letter, referred the request to the Committee of the Whole as there was no Standing Committee on Armed Forces, indicating that the Service Chiefs would be screened on the floor of the Senate, not at the Committee level.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button