General News

National Institute alumni holds 2021 AGM, elects new Exco in Abuja

Access Bank

The Alumni Association of the National Institute (AANI) has held its 41st Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday March 6, 2021, at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

During his welcome address, its President, IGP Mohammed Dahiru Abubakar (rtd), thanked members for their commitment to the Association as manifested in the large turnout.


He also noted that the last two years were very challenging due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which impacted negatively on the Association as it also lost some of its members. He, however, stated that the Association took advantage of the pandemic and assisted the less privileged in the society. He mentioned that the Association had registered the AANI Cooperative Society, which is for members’ benefit.


In a hitch-free but keenly competed for election, the President, IGP Mohammed Dahiru Abubakar (rtd), was returned unopposed. In contrast, Ambassador Emmanuel Obi Okafor mni was elected Vice President, having scored the highest vote against Air Commodore Ademola Onituju (rtd). Alhaji Abubakar Ismaila Isah defeated Dr Gado Shehu to emerge as Secretary-General, while Dr Kayode Moses Babatunde was elected Assistant Secretary-General, having higher votes against Doctor Ogbonna Onyeisi.


Barrister (Mrs) Kemi Olomola-Sijuwade was also elected Legal Adviser, defeating Barrister Emmanuel Cobham mni. Dr Asheikh Maidugu mni, of the Federal Inland Revenue Service was elected Financial Secretary of the Association, having polled more votes than Mrs Maryamu Laka Madami mni, the Chairman of Kaduna State and Mrs Olayinka Patunola-Ajayi mni. In the same vein, Mr Salawu Zubairu mni was elected Internal Auditor, having scored more votes against Mr Babatunde Abdurrahman. Brigadier Sani Usman Kukasheka (rtd) mni, a former Director of Army Public Relations, was elected as Publicity Secretary of the Association, having scored more votes against two contestants; Ambassador (Mrs) Christy Mbonu mni and Mrs.Omolara Balogun. Alhaji Ismail Umar Sifawa mni and Chief (Mrs) Love Ezema were elected unopposed as Treasurer and Welfare/Social Officer, respectively.


Before the elections, each of the candidates had two minutes to speak to the congress on why they wanted to contest and what they would do if elected. They all made very impressive presentations.


The 41st AANI AGM was reportedly well attended as it had in attendance members of Senior Executive Course (SEC) 7, 8, 9 and 10 who drew thunderous standing ovations. During his inaugural address, after the inauguration of the new EXCO, the President, IGP Mohammed Dahiru Abubakar (rtd), thanked all for the confidence in him and the new EXCO which he said would commence work in earnest and assured members of a high-quality leadership towards a better society.

He also thanked Nigerians and the media for their immense support and assured that AANI would continue to work towards a better society in Nigeria. To denote the determination of the new EXCO to hit the ground running, the National President has called for an inaugural meeting on Monday 8th March 2021 at the National Secretariat in Abuja.


AANI members from various parts of the country attended both the 41st AGM and general elections, cutting across different professional callings and other endeavours in life. Among them was His Eminence, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, the Sultan of Sokoto, who was represented by Alhaji Usman Bello Kankara, Kanwan Katsina II, the District Head of Ketare, the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed A. Adamu, was also represented by Deputy Inspector General of Police David Folawiyo.

Others were the Acting Director-General of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Brigadier General CU Udaya (rtd), former Acting Director General of NIPSS, Mr Jonathan Juma mni, Dr Pat Eze MON mni, Comrade Ayuba Wabba mni and Comrade Isa Aremu mni, amongst others.



Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button