BREAKING: Lawan is APC consensus Presidential candidate, national chairman reveals

As President Muhammadu Buhari holds a crucial meeting with nothern governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), the National Chairman of the party has announced Senate President Ahmed Lawan as the consensus candidate of the party.
Adamu made the announcement at the meeting of the National Working Committee (NWC) on Monday in Abuja, according to The Nation Newspaper.
Other aspirants including Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Dr Kayode Fayemi and David Umahi, among others will, however, be allowed to contest the primary at the convention holding tomorrow at the Eagle Square, Abuja.
Meanwhile, Buhari’s meeting is coming just hours ahead of the APC’s presidential convention, which is scheduled to take off today at the Eagle Square, Abuja.
Although there was no official note to the reason for the meeting with the Governors, it was suggested it may not be unconnected with preparations towards assuring a successful convention and narrowing down on who takes the flag of the party tomorrow.
It is the fourth meeting between the President and party stakeholders in relation to the primary.
Aside from his meeting with APC Governors last Tuesday, Buhari has met with the party’s presidential aspirants where he urged them to consult and pick a formidable candidate from among themselves.
On Sunday night, the President also hosted members of the National Advisory Council to a dinner.
Those in attendance are Chairman of Progressive Governors Forum Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi); chairman of Northern Governors Forum Simon Lalong; Abubakar Baduru (Jigawa) and Babagana Zulum (Borno).
Others are: Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina); Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa); Bello Matawale (Zamfara); Mallam Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna); Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano); Yahaya Inuwa (Gombe); Abubakar Bello (Niger) and Mai Mala Buni (Yobe).
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button